I want to be a mystic….

I want to be a mystic……

 

To be a mystic is to experience God in a gifted intuition, charged with a gentle love and a penetrating, though obscure knowledge of God.  Mysticism, together with its sister word, “contemplation,” are the most misunderstood and misapplied words in the religious vocabulary. By mysticism I do not mean psychic ability (ESP, telepathy, clairvoyance, astral projection, etc.) These psychic powers fall into the realm of para-psychology and not the realm of spirituality that I am referring to.  Contemplation was best described by ‘St. Gregory the Great’ as “Resting in God….to surrender yourself completely to the energy of God’s love at every step in our lives.”  

 

There are 3 things that are usually found in all beginners of mysticism: 1 Spiritual pride, 2 Spiritual sensationalism and 3 Spiritual laziness.  I can relate to experiencing all of the above.  I realize how much God still has to shake me of the things that interfere with my being with Him more closely.  I realize how much I base my life on material things.  I mean, heck, the fact that I am writing a blog about mysticism is slightly pretentious.  Mysticism is a sacred act. Like the  Derek Webb song sings (where Jesus is speaking to us saying)…I want the things you just can’t give me.  Lately I feel that God wants all I have.

 

Luke 14:16-18, “There was a man who gave a great banquet and invited a large number of people.  When the time for the banquet came, he sent his servant to say to those who had been invited, ” ‘Come along, everything is ready now.’  “But all alike started to make excuses.”

 

Many are called but few are chosen.  What this all speaks to me personally is…..

 

  1. Everything is ready now– But it’s easier for me to go do things for Christ than to be with Christ.

  2. Many are called but few are chosen– I feel that call deep within but most times avoid spending one on one time with the Father, feasting on the present presence of my spirit being joined with His.  Like the deer that draws the water from the brook so my soul longs to be with Thee, “LORD HELP ME TO FOLLOW,” to live in my chosen-ness as a true partaker of Your feast.

As I truly meditated, I realized that a lot of my spiritual sensationalism is made up of high sounding words and spiritual materialism, and as I prayed the pictures in my mind faded to black. As I just focused on nothing other than Christ I could feel for the first time my hidden-ness in Christ, the truth that I no longer live but Christ lives through me.  Prayer doesn’t have to be words or conjured up in mental pictures.  It can just be about abiding in Him.  Jesus calls to me, always saying, “Can’t you look past words or feelings to seek me and find your healing?”

My latest mantra has been John Chapter 15.  I have been drinking up every line.  This is a beautiful way to pray that has helped me be present with Jesus throughout my day.  Jesus says, “Remain in me, and I will remain in you, for a branch that doesn’t bear good fruit is severed from the vine, you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in Me, apart from Me you can do nothing, anyone who does not remain in Me is thrown away like a useless branch that withers and dies, but if you remain in Me and My words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want and it will be granted.”  Just repeating this over and over has allowed God to show me the allegorical meaning this scripture has for me personally…….

 

&gtpersonally. Reciting the word of God is a great form of prayer that can develop our intuition with the Holy Spirit.

    Spiritual Laziness– Man do I have this.  I lack discipline to consistently focus myself. Sometimes I act like I don’t have to abide in Christ throughout my day.  Then when I feel like it I turn on the intense spiritual light when I’m playing worship music or praying with folks.  The gifts God gives us don’t merit any favoritism in His eyes.  Remember that many are called to the table but few will actually live out their chosen-ness.

 

I thought these three things could apply not just to me but to other followers of Christ as well. 

May the Holy Spirit reveal truth to you as you contemplate these things.

 

Chris

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

