just say the word…..layers deep

Just Say the Word

This song has hidden meaning and multiple layers to it. We co-wrote this song with Paul Baloche in Nashville in October of 2010…

I will lay me down, here at Your feet
Save me from myself and calm the raging sea
You will be my ark that floats me up above the storm
Just Say, just say the word
Just say the word I’ll be made whole
Hear my humble prayer, help my unbelief
Speak to me Your hope, Jesus carry me
You will be my ark that floats me up above the storm
Just say, just say the word
Just say the word I’ll be made whole
Your goodness Your mercy will rescue me
Let Your power Your blood wash over me
Just one word from Heaven, just one word from Heaven brings life
Just one touch from Your Spirit, Jesus
Just say, just say the word
Just say the word I’ll be made whole

The chorus of the song sings, “Just say the word and I’ll be made whole.” It’s based on the story in the New Testament where the Roman officer approaches Jesus and asks him to heal his servant, who is back home ill, and Jesus says, “I will go with you to your home and heal your servant.” The officer says to Jesus, “I believe, that if you just say the word, my servant who is at home and is ill will be made well.” Jesus answers his request saying he hasn’t seen faith like this before.
The keys that really unlock the power of the whole song are in the words of the 2nd verse. I will go through it phrase by phrase and explain what I mean. The song sings, “Hear my humble prayer and help my unbelief.” Let’s stop there and reflect on another healing account that’s found in the Gospel of Mark chapter 9. The healing of the epileptic boy. It says, “They brought the boy to Jesus and when the Spirit saw Him, immediately it convulsed the boy, and he fell to the ground and rolled about foaming at the mouth.” Jesus asked the father, “How long has he had this?” and he said, “From childhood, it has often cast him into the fire and into the water, to destroy him; but if you can do anything, have pity on us and help us.” Jesus said to him, “If I can! All things are possible to him who believes.” Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, “I believe! Help my unbelief!” When Jesus saw that a crowd came running together, He rebuked the unclean spirit, saying to it, “You dumb and deaf spirit, I command you, come out of him, and never enter him again.” In order for Jesus to say the word into our lives, to heal and to calm the raging seas, we need to have faith that lines up with the word and remember faith is a gift from the Father to us. Faith is not a talent or something people can boast of because ultimately it’s a gift from Jesus to us.
At the very end of this short story in the Gospel, it says in Mark 9:28: Jesus entered the house, and his disciples asked him privately, “Why could we not cast out the demon?” (His disciples had tried to cast out the demon before they brought the boy to Jesus) Jesus says to them in verse 29, “This kind cannot be driven out by anything but prayer.” It’s obvious that the disciples didn’t start out in humble prayer; they kind of relied on their own talents and abilities to try to cast out the demon. It seems apparent that prayer is key to healing or deliverance of any kind. It starts with us coming to Jesus, and saying, like the song sings, hear my humble prayer and help my unbelief, just like the father of the epileptic boy. I need more faith. I want Jesus to move more fully in my life. Through humble prayer, I ask that He not only helps my unbelief, but that He would move the mountains of skepticism and fear that hide my heart from His.
Let’s move on to the next phrase, “Speak to me your hope, Jesus carry me.” The Bible says faith is the substance of things hoped for certain of what we do not see. We can clearly see that faith is made up of hope. So how do we receive more hope? Or should I say a Biblical idea of hope? The world can be a hope-less place. Here are some keys to receiving hope:

1. We need to turn to scripture and meditate on His word.
2. We need listen to inspiring music that glorifies the Lord and stirs up our hearts to receive what Jesus’ word says about us
3. We need to come to church to gather in the hope and victory of Christ. We need Jesus, through His Spirit, to speak to us His hope continually through these ways.

For more healing and peace in our lives these keys apply:

1. Come to Jesus in humble prayer and ask Him to help your unbelief. Pray that He would give you the gift of faith and that He would release the word that you need into your life.
2. Ask him to speak hope to you throughout your week and pray that His Spirit would be the final word in your life. Pray that His words would out shout the lies of skepticism and fear.

I pray that the Father’s hand of blessing would rest upon your head this week that He would carry you through the hope you have received. May He carry you in the refuge of His arms like an ark floating above the storm. When all around us, the world is dismayed, may He be all your hope and stay.

Chris

Leave a Reply

