wake my heart!!

1 Samuel 3:7-10 “The Lord called Samuel again a third time. And he got up and went to Eli and said, “Here I am, for you called me.”  Then Eli perceived that the Lord was calling the boy. Therefore Eli said to Samuel, “Go, lie down and if he calls you, you shall say, “Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.” So Samuel went and lay down in his place. Now the Lord came and stood there, calling as before, “Samuel! Samuel!” and Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”
 
Sometimes in life I feel aimless and directionless, confused about what decisions are best to make for my marriage and for the future of my career.  As I’ve said in a previous blog, there are so many things in life we can do, but God knows the things in life that will make us feel most complete. God has plans for you and I.  I feel Impulsive lately, it seems like I have been chasing after every idea that comes into my head and I end up feeling tired and burnt out.  A very close friend of mine, a friend that I have been talking to a lot lately, will end every conversation we have with the words….” Let’s take the next few days and pray about it.”  After like the tenth time of hearing him say that, I got off the phone and thought about all the things I have been chasing and pursuing lately.  I asked myself…did I pray about these things before I just went out and did them?  I know it sounds elementary, but it gets easy to take matters into our own hands and just do what we think is best without asking God what He thinks.  Jason Upton sings in one of his songs, “Bring your dreams to God, bring your laughter to God and bring your pain to God, bring it all to Him.”  What this says to me, is that God wants us to bring all moments of life, large and small, to Him.  We live in a society that has no patience at all, we want everything to be perceived and gotten instantly, we don’t like to wait.  Maybe that’s why praying and taking time to hear from God can be frustrating to us.  Tim Keller describes patience as love for the long haul. Learning to hear from God takes patience and love for the long haul.  My brother and I wrote a song loosely based on the above scripture from the book of Samuel, as a prayer in our present day, to hear the voice of the father and to follow where He leads…
 
“May your voice be louder than my own,
nearer to the bone,
may your presence draw me still closer to your will,
more familiar to me than my mother’s voice to me,
may your presence draw me still,
ever closer to your will.
Speak, oh God, for your servant is listening.”
 
God had a specific plan for Samuel’s life.
In this scripture we see that Samuel kept hearing the voice of God and thinking that it was Eli.  Eli was a father figure to Samuel and a familiar voice.  This speaks to me…that God is speaking to me all the time, but in a voice that is so close, closer than the air I breathe, and more familiar than my mother’s voice to me.  For many of us we have a din of voices going on in our minds. Constantly, so many choices, but we need to learn to be still and patiently wait on the Lord.   When we pray we begin to tune out all the voices, to get to the one that has been speaking clearly all along, but has been drowned out or discarded.  I guarantee, softly and tenderly Jesus is calling, calling for you and for me.  Even at this very moment…but the voice is so close, that we either think it’s not the voice of God or it has been drowned out by other voices, the ones of society or of pursuing the ‘American dream.’  I invite you, to bring all of your thoughts, past and future, all of your fears, pain and laughter and leave them with Jesus.  Don’t forget the most important part at the end of your prayers, quiet your mind, be-still your heart and say, “Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.”  Let the Holy Spirit speak to you.
 
Chris

One response to “wake my heart!!

Leave a Reply

