We are his workmanship….

When I was on the verge of signing a record deal with Integrity, I remember praying a whole lot and asking God for clear direction. I knew that if we did sign with Integrity that it would bring a lot of change. That along with that change would come a lot of opportunities but also a lot of hard work. I was extremely excited and fearful at the same time and not sure what advice to follow.
I stumbled upon this verse in my bible reading and began saying it quietly to myself for the next few weeks, meditating on each phrase…“We are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.”
Ephesians 2:10

It was getting time to make the decision about signing the contract with Integrity. I remember coming home and seeing a card from my wife Suzie. I opened the envelope and on the cover of the card was the above verse from Ephesians I had been meditating on! It made me laugh because I never told Suzie I had been meditating on this verse. Suzie, just wanting to encourage me, happened upon this card with the very same verse that had been my strength the last few weeks! After reading the card I turned it over to look at the back and there was the Integrity symbol! (Integrity starting making greeting cards a few years ago)
God answered my direct prayer in an indirect and very out of the box way. A lot of folks love the bible verse Jeremiah 29:11…”I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord”…But my favorite as far as God having a plan for my life, is Ecclesiastes 6:10…”Everything has been decided, it was known long ago what each person would be, so there is no use in arguing with God about your destiny.”
I can totally picture a loving father telling his son, “Don’t argue with me boy or complain you’re not good enough, get out there and do it!” I picture God saying that to me every time I feel ill-equipped. God gives us more than we can handle so His strength can make us complete. By Your Spirit Lord, I walk out the good works you already have planned for me. Thank You Father! Amen.

the logo on the back of the card that Suzie gave me

Leave a Reply

